Freelancing is Freedom

I’m not really sure how to start this story, but I’ll try to keep it as short and as sweet as possible. Like most freelancers, I’m guessing, I didn’t start out as a freelancer. Once I’d landed my career as an automobile technician, I was fairly certain I’d be doing it for a long time. In less than ten years, I’d gone from a low-level lube and tire tech to a full-on ASE (Automotive Society of Engineers) Certified Master Automobile Technician.

My old "office"

My old “office”

To explain to the non-technical, I’m one of those few who has the ability to completely tear apart a vehicle and put it all back together again. When I left the shop, I was making about $55K. The money was good, my wife and daughter were comfortable, and we lived in a nice apartment close to work, but there was something else that was tugging at my conscience.

Background

I’ve been baptized as one of Jehovah’s Witnesses for over twenty years. One of the joys of this service is to engage in the public preaching and teaching of the Bible, something which each and every Witness partakes in, whether young or old, man or woman, for however many hours per month they feel they can dedicate to this all-important work. That’s what was tugging at my conscience, as I’d always felt that I could do more, but a full-time job wasn’t allowing me to do it.

I’d asked for time off, even unpaid at times, and this was a relief, albeit short-lived. I’d even gone so far as to ask for a reduced or compressed work schedule, which were incredulously declined. In any case, I kept looking for ways to increase my ministry without sacrificing my family’s needs, so I had to keep working. Eventually, because I am a perfectionist, both a blessing and a curse when you work for someone else, I was let go from working at the shop.

Freelancer

I think it was my wife who suggested freelance writing, since I happen to have a knack for words, and I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do. Going to find work at another shop wasn’t in my cards, and suddenly, I realized that freelancing might give me the freedom to pursue my spiritual goals. Some changes were definitely necessary. Since my wife is Peruvian, and we were serving in the Spanish congregation in New Jersey, we figured we’d give Perú a try.

The view from my back porch to the last tropical glaciers in the world.

The view from my back porch to the last tropical glaciers in the world.

We’d recently become debt-free, in spite of losing my job, so we bought tickets for a six-month stay. That was September 1, 2012, just a few months after losing my technician job, and we only came back to the United States for a few months, in 2013, to sell off some belongings and put some emergency stuff in storage. We’re now happily living in the highlands of Perú, with no immediate plans to return. I have enough freelance work to keep me busy two or three days a week, my wife and I are homeschooling our five-year-old daughter in English and Spanish, and we spend the rest of our time in the volunteer bible educational work.

Challenges

Of course, in the beginning, the challenge was to find enough freelance work to make ends meet, as well as adjust to a reduced income. Regarding income, this involved some serious changes in lifestyle. In my case, moving out of the country turned out to be a huge advantage. I may be making just 20% of my former salary, but the cost of living in Carhuáz, Áncash, Perú, is about 15% that of living in Middlesex, New Jersey, except for gasoline and automobiles, which cost about the same. Even so, we had to live off some of our savings until the freelancing picked up.

I started out just being able to mention my experience in the automotive field and my interest in alternative fuels. I maxed out my proposal credits every month with little to show for it, until I got a big break from a new website who wanted some studies on electric vehicles. The job itself was small, but I used that as a springboard into all my other proposals.

My new "office"

My new “office”

As a freelance writer, now with a little over two years on the boards, I write weekly for about half-a-dozen websites, which takes me about two days to complete each week. I still have time for one-offs and short projects, but I don’t go looking for them, they come looking for me. I haven’t used a proposal credit in nearly a year.

Advice

Regarding finding enough work, I would say patience and determination are key to making it work. Realize that, in spite of perhaps decades of expertise, being a new freelancer on oDesk, Elance, or any of the other freelance hubs, is really starting a new career. No matter what you’re freelancing, always start out presenting your best. In proposals, don’t hesitate to toot your own horn. After all, no one is going to toot it for you, and there are maybe a thousand others just like you looking for the same contract.

Ask for what you’re worth, and then deliver what you’re worth. Don’t accept underpaid contracts, “just to get the job.” Maybe you can offer an introductory price for an ongoing job, but don’t root around in the bargain basement. Those contracts and clients are not worth your valuable time and effort for such little return.

Benefits

The personal benefits of switching from a full time career to part-time freelance writing have been priceless, in spite of the pay cut. I have more time to fulfill my spiritual goals, for which I’m ever thankful. Perhaps more importantly, however, I have more time with my family, with whom I’m closer than I’ve ever been before, and there is no price that can be placed on that.

My daughter is five years old, and now I can be with her all the time.

My daughter is five years old, and now I can be with her all the time.

I suppose that, whether your specific goals are spiritually- or family-oriented, like mine, or you just want to escape the rat race and live your own life (and who doesn’t want that?), making a go of freelancing just might be your ticket to freedom.

Images and Content © Jerew Independent Research

If you wish to share or repost this story, you have my permission to do so, permitting your posting meets the following conditions:

  • You may not crop, tweak, edit, shuffle, spin, or rewrite my post.
  • You must provide a backlink to either the original post or my homepage.
About LoneWolffe

Ben has been a Master Automobile Technician for over ten years, certified by ASE, Toyota, and Lexus. He specialized in electronic systems and hybrid technology. Branching out now, as a Freelance Writer, he specializes in research and writing about his main area of interest, Automotive Technology, Alternative Fuels, and Concept Vehicles.
This entry was posted in Freelance Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Freelancing is Freedom

    • bjerew says:

      given that the average person changes careers nine times in their life, (i forget where i heard that) freelancing seems like a great way to fulfill some very personal goals. gone are the days when you’d work at one place for thirty years and retire with a gold watch. today’s world, more mobile and connected than ever, has opened up a whole new field of opportunities.

  1. yesiypipe says:

    Ben, I enjoyed reading your article. I did not know how you started in this field, now I know the story. I am so happy for you guys 🙂

    • bjerew says:

      The funny thing is, I didn’t really find success in this work until after I had started pioneering. I asked the local Toyota service manager how much her technicians make. They make about 1,800 PEN per week, working six days a week, eight to ten hours per day. I make about the same, working just 2.5 days from my laptop. Jehovah has been good to us.

  2. Pingback: How To Store Your Tools, For a Week or a Year | Car-Takumi

Leave a Reply

